Praga announces new UK-based championship

Series to take place across six rounds in Britain and one in Europe.

Praga announces new UK-based championship

Praga Cars

  • Series to be named 'Praga Cup'
  • 2022 champions to have chance to compete in 25 Hours of Thunderhill race
  • Maximum of 24 cars allowed to compete in championship

Czech manufacturer Praga has announced the creation of a UK-based, one-make racing series, beginning in March 2022.

The championship, which will be named the Praga Cup, will comprise of six rounds in the UK, at circuits such as Silverstone, Donington Park, Snetterton and Oulton Park. Additionally, there will be one European round, with the location yet to be disclosed.

Praga has revealed that a minimum of 16 cars will be required for the series to run, with a maximum of 24 allowed. Competitors will only be permitted to race in a Praga R1 vehicle.

In addition, prizes awarded at the end of the inaugural 2022 Praga Cup season include a factory car and the chance to compete in the 25 Hours of Thunderhill, an endurance race in California.

The announcement of the new Praga Cup series comes after the manufacturer's successful debut season on the Britcar Endurance grid, where nine Praga R1s were run.

"We have seen significant growth in 2021 in the awareness of Praga and the R1, had a successful year on the grid within Britcar Endurance, and strengthened our team with the recruitment of Lucy Payne as motorsport manager," said Mark Harrison, managing director of Praga Cars.

"Most importantly, though, we saw increased interest from drivers, teams and potential sponsors after releasing dramatic pictures of all nine competing R1s together on the grid at Silverstone in June and this has encouraged us to build on momentum and target the one-make cup in 2022."