Formula One confirms 2018 calendar

German and French Grands Prix will return in an expanded 21-race season.

Formula One confirms 2018 calendar

The calendar for the 2018 FIA Formula One World Championship has been approved by the sport’s governing body, the International Automobile Federation (FIA). 

The early ratification of the schedule was taken at this year’s FIA World Motor Sport Council, which was held in Geneva, Switzerland. The 2018 season will consist of a record-equalling 21 Grands Prix and sees the return of the Grosser Preis von Deutschland and the Grand Prix de France. Due to financial issues the German Grand Prix had to pull out of hosting its designated race this year and the French race has been missing from the calendar since 2008.

The opening Grand Prix of the eight-month season will once again be held in Melbourne, Australia on 25th March, while the championship culminates with the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix at Yas Marina on 25th November. 11 races will take place in Europe, five in Asia, four in the Americas and one in Australia.

Formula One will have its first ‘triple-header’, with the French, Austrian and British Grands Prix all due to take place on consecutive weekends.

“We wanted to finalise next season’s calendar early so that all our stakeholders would have more time to prepare and we have managed it, thanks in part through working closely with the FIA,” said Chase Carey, chief executive of Formula One. “We are proud to confirm that the German and French Grands Prix will take place in 2018. 

“France was one of the seven races that made up the first ever world championship in 1950 and it now returns after a decade. It will be held at the Paul Ricard circuit, which last hosted a round of the F1 Championship in 1990.”

Jean Todt, President of the FIA, added: “Alongside our partners in Formula One and across the FIA’s major championships we have been working hard in recent months to achieve greater harmony among the various sporting calendars and reaching an early agreement on the 2018 Formula One schedule is part of this ongoing process.

“The FIA would also like to welcome back the French and German Grands Prix to the calendar, as both have a long and rich tradition in the sport.”

2018 Formula One calendar

25th March Melbourne, Australia
8th April Shanghai, China
15th April Sakhir, Bahrain
29th April  Baku, Azerbaijan
13th May Barcelona, Spain
27th May Monaco
10th June Montreal, Canada
14th June Paul Ricard, France
1st July Red Bull Ring, Austria
8th July Silverstone, Great Britain
22nd July Hockenheim, Germany
29th July Hungaroring, Hungary
26th August Spa, Belgium
2nd September Monza, Italy
16th September Singapore
30th September Sochi, Russia
7th October Suzuka, Japan
21st October Austin, USA
28th October Mexico City, Mexico
11th November Interlagos, Brazil
25th November Yas Marina, Abu Dhabi