Formula E reveals 2017/18 calendar

Santiago, São Paulo and Rome added for 14-race season.

Formula E reveals 2017/18 calendar

Electric vehicle racing series Formula E has announced its calendar for the 2017/18 season following the FIA World Motorsport Council meeting in Geneva.

The fourth edition of the FIA Formula E Championship will feature a more compact schedule including three double-headers, along with three new races in the Chilean capital of Santiago, São Paulo in Brazil and the Italian capital of Rome.

The eight-month campaign will comprise of the most races to appear on a Formula E calendar since its inception in 2014. Two host cities are yet to be announced.

Alejandro Agag, founder and chief executive of Formula E, said: “It’s exciting news to welcome a number of new host cities on the Formula E calendar, as well as seeing existing locations build on the success of previous events.

“Formula E is continuing to expand the calendar and the number of cities in key markets, in addition to the growing list of partners and manufacturers joining the electric revolution. Our priority is to consolidate a calendar with long-term agreements with host cities – the schedule for season 4 is a step in the right direction.”

The 2017/18 season-opener will be a double-header in Hong Kong, which is scheduled to take place on 2nd and 3rd December.

2017/18 Formula E Calendar

2nd December 2017 Hong Kong, China              

3rd December 2017 Hong Kong, China

13th January 2018 Marrakesh, Morocco

3rd February 2018 Santiago, Chile

3rd March 2018 Mexico City, Mexico

17th March 2018 São Paulo, Brazil

14th April 2018 Rome, Italy

28th April 2018 Paris, France

19th May 2018 TBA, Germany

9th June 2018 TBA

7th July 2018 New York City, USA

8th July 2018 New York City, USA

28th July 2018 Montreal, Canada

29th July 2018 Montreal, Canda