Audi added to Formula E grid

German manufacturer to join electric racing series from 2017/18 season.

Audi added to Formula E grid

German automotive manufacturer Audi has confirmed its inclusion in the Formula E Championship, the International Automobile Federation (FIA)-sanctioned all-electric street racing series.

Under the new name of Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler, the carmaker will take to the grid for the series’ 2017/18 season. The team will take over the entry previously held by Abt Sportsline, and will be the first German entrant in the international open-wheel championship.  

Dieter Gass, head of Audi motorsport, said: “Formula E delivers spectacular motorsport in the hearts of fascinating cities and is a tremendous stage to present electric mobility and motorsport in their most emotive forms. We’re currently seeing an extremely exciting season with a gripping title race. I’m happy that now everything has been put on track for a successful future too.”

This season Abt Sportsline driver Lucas di Grassi won the Mexico ePrix. The Brazilian currently occupies second place in 2016/17 drivers’ championship, 32 points behind bitter rival Sébastien Buemi with two races remaining.